part of me

There is a part of me that lives in the mountains of Tennessee and North Carolina – I feel complete in a strange way when I get to head toward the Smokies – like I’m all put together again.  I can’t quite describe the feeling that I get when they stand tall around me as if to tell me to draw strength from them, but I always try.  Today I am not going to try.  I am just going to say that the mountains make me feel wistful.  They make me want to stand as still as I can for as long as I can and imprint the image of the quilted landscape on my soul.

 

One thought on “part of me

  1. Your blood line from your dear ole dad’s side came from these old mountains. I feel the same way when I get close to them too. They have a certain draw to them that seems to pull us that way.

Leave a comment